ASTA Congratulates the Newly-Elected National Board of DirectorsPress Releases - News - ASTA

Contact: Erika Richter

ASTA Congratulates the Newly-Elected National Board of Directors

Alexandria, VA, September 6, 2017 – The American Society of Travel Agents (ASTA) is pleased to announce its Board of Directors' newly-elected Directors-at-Large, who officially began their two-year term at the close of ASTA’s Global Convention in San Diego last week. There were eleven candidates vying for four open at-large seats on the Board.

The following are the newly elected national Directors-at-Large, in alphabetical order:

  • Dave Hershberger, Prestige Travel, Inc./Travel Leaders (elected to second term)
  • Pamela Irwin, CTA, CTC, American Travel Bureau (newly elected)
  • Toni Lanotte-Day, ACC, MCC, Toni Tours, Inc. (elected to second term)
  • Eric Maryanov, All Travel (elected to second term)

The at-large directors returning to serve the final year of their current term on the Board are as follows:

  • Rick Ardis, Ardis Travel
  • Jay Ellenby, Safe Harbors Business Travel Group
  • Betsy Geiser, UNIGLOBE Travel Center
  • Olga Ramudo, Express Travel
  • Gloria Stock Mickelson, CTIE, Travel Leaders Network

The incumbent Board of Directors convened at the ASTA Global Convention in San Diego to elect the new Executive Committee from the above nine directors-at-large. The Executive Committee is comprised of the Chairman, Vice Chairman and Secretary, Treasurer, and the Chair of the Corporate Advisory Council (CAC). ASTA's President and CEO is an ex-officio non-voting member of the Executive Committee. The new Executive Committee is as follows:

  • Chairman, Jay Ellenby, Safe Harbors Business Travel Group (elected to second term)
  • Vice Chairman and Secretary, Dave Hershberger, Prestige Travel, Inc./Travel Leaders (elected to second term)
  • Treasurer, Eric Maryanov, All Travel (elected to second term)

In addition to the nine national directors elected at-large for two-year, staggered terms, ASTA's Bylaws provide for seven additional voting seats on the Board.

Two (2) Corporate Advisory Council (CAC) members

  • Jennifer Wilson-Buttigieg, Valerie Wilson Travel, Inc.  (CAC Chair)
  • Denise Jackson, Balboa Travel, Inc. (CAC Vice-Chair)

One (1) NACTA Member Director

  • Helen Prochilo, Promal Vacations

One (1) Consortium Member Director

  • Cheryl Cheney Bunker, Virtuoso

Three (3) Area Directors

  • Steve Powers, Hidden Treasure Tours
  • Laura Rodriguez, Marina Tours and Travel Arizona LLC
  • Chris Seddelmeyer, Seddelmeyer Travel Concepts

 “We are excited to work with the new Board of Directors as we continue to build on the successes of the ‘New ASTA’,” said Zane Kerby, ASTA President & CEO. “The Board has a deep commitment to ASTA’s advocacy mission and they are well-versed on the issues facing our industry. They’re savvy business men and women who are passionate and dedicated to shaping a positive future for our industry.”

ASTA (American Society of Travel Agents) members represent 80 percent of all travel sold in the United States through the travel agency distribution channel. Together with hundreds of internationally based members, it is the leading global advocate for travel agents, the travel industry and the traveling public. ASTA’s history of travel industry advocacy traces back to its founding in 1931 when it launched with the mission to facilitate the business of selling travel through effective representation, shared knowledge and the enhancement of professionalism. For more information, visit

ASTA’s sister association, The National Association of Career Travel Agents, represents a professional community of independent travel agents ready to assist the traveling public.

Celebrity Cruises
Marriott logo
Allianz Global Assistance ARC Hilton logo NTC Silver Car The Travel Corporation Travelport Travelinsured Turkish Airlines
ASTA - American Society of Travel Agents
675 N Washington St, Ste 490
Alexandria, VA 22314 U.S.A.