Travel Agent of the Year - About ASTA - ASTA

Travel Agent of the Year

In 2013 ASTA recreated the Travel Agent of the Year Award into the Extra Mile Award. Travel agents do so much for their clients, more than is ever seen by the client. These agents are the reason this industry is so wonderful. Why we get up in the morning and stay up late at night. Taking care of the client. Creating their life memories and to be there when they need something. Anything.

Extra Mile Award Winner 20132013 Extra Mile Award Winner

Debbie Tenny, Options Travel (Des Plaines, IL) for going above and beyond for their clients.

The 2013 Extra Mile Award is sponsored by Auto Europe.




ASTA's Travel Agent of the Year Award was established in 1970 in memory of Joseph W. Rosenbluth. It is awarded each year during ASTA's Travel Retailing & Destination Expo to the travel agent member who has made the greatest contribution to the travel industry and whose outstanding influence and professional activity have advanced the status of the travel agency industry.

Candidates for the Travel Agent of the Year Award must meet the following eligibility requirements in order to be nominated:

  • The individual must be a working travel agent and a current ASTA member or Premium Manager
  • The individual cannot be a current officer of ASTA
  • This person must have been a travel agent for at least 10 years (can be domestic or international supplier).



Past Recipients

2011 Winner - Olga Ramudo
2010 Winner - Mary Peters, CTC
2009 Winner - Mary Louise Seifert
2008 Winner - Kathy Sudeikis
2000's 2006 - Rae Anne Ryan 2007 - John Haskins
2005 - Susan Tanzman 2004 - Gloria Bohan
2003 - Mary Ann Ramsey, CTC, DS 2002 - Sho Dozono
2001 - Bernice Rosmarin, CTC 2000 - Nancy A. Strong, CTC
1990's 1999 - Jeanne C. Epping 1998 - Howard and Bunny Pollock
1997 - Joseph Hallissey, CTC 1996 - Beverly Ann Schukar, CTC
1995 - William "Buck" Haeseler III 1994 - William H. Hunt, CTC
1993 - Harold Berns 1992 - H. Wayne Berens, CTC
1991 - Francis H. Goranin, CTC 1990 - Robert L. McMullen, CTC
1980's 1989 - Carl Helgren, CTC 1988 - George Reinke
1987 - Joseph R. Stone 1986 - Arnold C. Rigby, CTC
1985 - Lawrence Frommer, CTC 1984 - Edward Hennessy, CTC
1983 - Nancy J. Stewart, CTC 1982 - Freddye Henderson, CTC
1981 - Laurence C. Tombs, CTC 1980 - Sarah Marquis, CTC
1970's 1979 - Anthony J. Speilman, CTC 1978 - Newell Grinnell, CTC
1977 - Walter Plaut, CTC 1976 - Charles West, CTC
1975 - Peter J. Rescigno, CTC 1974 - Dorothy Marsh, CTC
1973 - Thomas J. Donovan, CTC 1972 - Milton A. Marks, CTC
1971 - Robert W. Hemphill, CTC 1970 - George G. Brownell, CTC

Celebrity Cruises
Marriott logo
Allianz Global Assistance ARC Hilton logo NTC Silver Car The Travel Corporation Travelport Travelinsured Turkish Airlines
ASTA - American Society of Travel Agents
675 N Washington St, Ste 490
Alexandria, VA 22314 U.S.A.